Composite Manufacturing Awards Deadline November 2016


In recognition of the valuable contributions within the composites manufacturing industry, the Composites Manufacturing Tech Group, which is part of SME’s Plastics, Composites & Coatings Community, developed two technical awards to acknowledge the valuable roles that both large and small manufacturers play within the industry. The awards are bestowed during SME’s annual Composites Manufacturing event.

awardsThe awards are presented annually to one large company and one small company that have demonstrated “excellence in the field of advanced composites manufacturing.” This is an international award, and the competition is open and unrestricted to all companies that manufacture products from advanced composite materials. These annual awards recognize those companies that have demonstrated dedication and ongoing contribution to further advance the design and development of technology used in the manufacturing of advanced composites.

Each award will showcase those companies that have excelled in manufacturing products made from advanced composite materials. That excellence will include developing an innovative way via tooling and/or manufacturing process techniques, which will help manufacture future products made from these materials; or have shown accelerated growth by providing superior service, quality or cost reduction initiatives. The award recipients will have demonstrated all of the initiatives that have helped advance the overall composite manufacturing industry.

2016 Winners
Large Company: Fives Cincinnati
Small Company: Abaris Training

The J.H. “Jud” Hall Composites Manufacturing Award honors the late Judge H. Hall (1931-85) for his dedication to making the former Composites Manufacturing Association of SME (CMA/SME), an established group within the composites manufacturing industry, and for his contributions to the development of composites technology. Hall was issued U.S. Patent 3962394 — “Method for molding fiber reinforced composite tube” in June 1976. Previously, he was a member of the technical staff, TRW Inc., Redondo Beach, California, and chair of the former CMA/SME. The award is presented annually to an individual who has contributed to the composites manufacturing or tooling technology through leadership, technical developments, patents or educational activities.

2016 Winner
 Scott Lewitt, President, Structural Composites Inc. and Compsys Inc.

Help us celebrate the outstanding achievements in composites manufacturing – submit your nomination today!


About AeroDef
AeroDef® Manufacturing is the leading exposition and technical conference for the aerospace and defense manufacturing industry. Produced by the SME, in partnership with industry OEMs, our mission is to foster innovation across the extended enterprise to reduce costs, expedite production times and maintain manufacturing competitiveness in the global economy.

AeroDef® showcases the industry’s most advanced technologies across an innovative floor plan designed to facilitate interaction and business relationships between exhibitors and buyers looking for integrated solutions. Our keynote speakers and panelists come from the highest level of government and business. They come to share their vision of the potential of technology, collaboration and public policy to transform manufacturing – concepts that attendees can actually experience on the exposition floor and in our in-depth conference sessions. It’s the one event that brings together high-concept, integrated solutions and real-world applications.

For more information, or to register, visit